For the last 2 weeks, Danielle has only observed me dancing, rather than dancing with me and observing. The reason being that she cannot catch everything I do wrong while she herself is moving. At first, I felt nervous doing this (with all the attention on me, I generally feel nervous during a private lesson) and didn’t enjoy it, but now I really like it.

Danielle was right that she can give more correction. The other thing is I pay more attention to what I’m doing since I can’t watch her. I think sometimes I get into the syndrome of watching someone and being able to mimic what they’re doing without learning it. This way I feel like I am learning it.

From a performance perspective, learning this way is probably for the best. After all, when you perform, all eyes are on you and unfortunately, not all eyes are going to be as kind or as helpful as your teacher’s.

