Since I’m not banking on grad school in the fall at this point, I need to have employment. I’m lucky in that I have no school debt, but I still need a roof over my head, food in my kitties’ bellies (and mine!), etc.

I’ve been looking around, and the prospects aren’t so hot. If you knew me around 2006, the job market wasn’t great back then. Being somewhat practical, I would apply for administrative assistant jobs. I have many stories where I would go to an interview for administrative assistant jobs, and I’d be mercilessly grilled about whether I wanted the job. What I think happened was that they were afraid I’d quit when I would get a physics job, and I believe that they thought it would happen sooner than later. They also insisted that I’d be bored.

I spent the 2006-2007 year in non-physics jobs, not for a lack of trying. When making ends meet, any legal job is good enough. Interest takes a back burner, and I learned that any job can be somewhat interesting.

The job market is much uglier for physics than I’ve seen in the past. I’m not surprised. Academia is suffering financially, and most, if not all, of the national labs have experienced cuts.

If you’re in biology, they still have (at least compared to physics) ample jobs. I’ve found only a small handful of jobs in physics lately that I’m qualified for. A very small handful, like 3. I think having an MS in physics is going to be more detrimental to me getting an administrative job; the hiring folks will most likely believe even more strongly that I’m going to quit within a month. I can’t bluff my way out of an MS, since it is true and apparent that the path I desire is physics or science. However, I’m extremely doubtful that I can get a science job at this point. There aren’t that many available for physics, and they are mostly for PhDs or people with teaching certificates.

I’m not pretending that I don’t want a physics job, because I do. I enjoy physics, and if I get a research job, it’ll look good for when I do want to try to get into a PhD program again, not to mention networking opportunities. I guess wish me luck in the quest for a job?

