1. You really don’t know that much. I don’t want to get tripped up when it comes to defense time, and I’m also curious. I spend a lot of time trying to understand minute details. I’ve been very much humbled by how little I know.
  2. Historical papers are difficult to read. One of the big papers for my research is Einstein’s diffusion paper. We’ve had trouble following some of the math, like some assumptions he has made, and it appears no one else can explain the assumptions. They’re just bam! there and they make the derivation work out.
  3. You can’t allocate enough time. I work on my thesis at least 8-10 hours a day (hence no blogging), and I’m still behind on the schedule I made. I’m figuring stuff out most of the time. I barely want to take time to eat lunch or go buy it; I’m lucky my assistants help keep me sane and fed.
  4. Technology=Evil. With all the stress of everything, technology likes to break down. Mathematica was irritable today and required so many restarts. Latex, the program used to write the thesis, has its days too.
  5. You have to make sacrifices. My dancing honestly has been put to the way side. I have skipped social functions just to work on my thesis.  I do fit in yoga, because I need some kind of physical activity. My wrist aches from computer usage. I don’t want to be damaged when I’m finished. I really wish there were more hours in the day to do dance, be social, etc.
  6. The thesis engulfs your life. I didn’t anticipate my thesis being on my mind so much, even when I’m not working on it. That was the other reason I am not dancing as much. I can’t shut off the thesis writing part yet. This has overtaken my life.
