I’ve been working with the music for my kinda choreography. One of the best things about Middle Eastern music is you’re supposed to let it tell you what to do. Unfortunately, right now, I hear “arms” at the beginning, “open Egyptians” (it’s a move) for the bulk of the song, and hip drops for the rest.

I think I’m just out of touch with working on a piece. I’m used to going to class and following whatever we’re working on. One of my own criticisms of my dance education is I haven’t performed much. I’m kind of the anti-6 week wonder (a phrase used for someone who performs and thinks s/he knows it all after 6 weeks). I have very little performance experience for someone who has been dancing as long as I have. I haven’t been a part of classes that do regular recitals or have troupes. I haven’t had the time to do hafla stuff. Don’t get me wrong; I’m a huge proponent of education and continuing one’s education, as well as not pushing performance too soon. However, I wish, in retrospect, I would’ve performed more or had the chance to. There is a heavily balance to strike. “Everything in moderation, even moderation.”

I’m not worried. I have about 2 weeks to get my act together. I figure I have about 1 minute worth of stuff out of a 3.5 minute song. Not too shabby for just starting on Friday.

