Raqs sharqi dance snobbery is a rarity in my life. When I say dance snobbery, I mean  people being dismissive about Middle Eastern dance. Mainly because I choose not to mention it in most parts of my life. I’ve only recently become more comfortable discussing my dancing and luckily, the response has been pretty positive. The worst responses have been from people rather close to me.

Last night was my first experience with dance snobbery within a dance community. At Bharatanatyam, some of my classmates were chortling about non-present students who are, as they described themselves, “belly dancers” (I’ve heard of them in passing). I never felt inclined to share to much about myself; my class doesn’t have much community in it, and I’m really there to dance. Their attitude bothered me, because well, Middle Eastern dance is a huge part of my life. My classmates and I work ridiculously hard; I can’t attest to the students by whom my classmates were amused (I’ve heard excellent things about their troupe, though), but I can safely say that there are talented, hardworking Middle Eastern dancers in the Boston-area.

