At the very beginning of last semester, I was scheduled to take a class that was canceled about 2 hours prior to class time. No one had told me that the class was canceled, there were no notices online, etc. I had assumed that I would be withdrawn from the class, because the school had canceled the class, due to low enrollment.

It turns out that they not only did not withdraw me from the class, but also because I ended registering for another class, they billed me for being over the standard number of credits. The bill is not trivial, about $2500.

Hopefully, this matter is taken care of in a straight-forward way; luckily, the professor who is in charge of my independent study was supposed to teach the canceled class, and well- it is the school’s fault. I have already sent a polite email to my college, explaining the situation. Perhaps I should have checked a little more closely that I had been withdrawn from the class, but- well, it just made sense to me that I would’ve been automatically withdrawn and the class would disappear from the course catalog that semester, since people register for classes a week or two into the semester.

Lesson: It always pays to read your bills, sometimes literally.

